Mother Protects 9-Year-Old During Broad Daylight Robbery

From http://www.wsoctv.com, February 20, 2013

There were terrifying moments for a mother and her 9-year-old son in Catawba County.

“Catawba County 911,” said dispatcher.

“We just got broke into and we were in the house,” said the mother.

The mother and son hid in a bathroom as the burglars went from room to room looking for valuables.

Eyewitness News found out what she did to keep her son safe and how the boy is helping deputies with the case.

Investigators said they have seen a number of similar break-ins in the middle of the day here in Catawba County, usually while no one is home.

Not only was this house targeted, but a home two doors away.

Both times the thieves kicked in a door.

“We locked ourselves in a bathroom and they were just going through the house. I didn’t go to the door because I didn’t know him and he kicked it in,” she said to dispatcher.

There is significant damage to Lisa Waters’ door, and you can hear the anguish in her voice as she described to the 911 operator trying to hide from the burglars.

“We locked ourselves in a bathroom and they were just going through the house. I didn’t go to the door because I didn’t know him and he kicked it in,” said Water’s.

Waters showed Eyewitness News the bathroom she and her son hid in for nearly five minutes as the burglars went from room to room stealing the family’s belongings.

“My son and I were on the other side of this bathroom door and I was holding the lock. Then I heard this, and I said, ‘Oh my God,’ I’m face to face to him the only thing separating us is this door,” said Waters.

Waters said the burglars did not realize that she was in there and moved on to the master bedroom.

That’s when she told her son it was time to get out.

“I took a look at my son as best as I could in the dark, and I said, ‘Son, I need you to listen to me carefully when I tell you to go, I need you to go.’ And he said, ‘Momma, I can’t. I’m scared. I’m so scared.”

But the 9-year-old and Waters quietly slipped out the back door, and she grabbed her phone as they ran outside.

That’s when her son spotted the silver, four-door Honda parked in their driveway.

Inside a woman began blowing the horn alerting the burglars.

Police believe she along with the two men may be connected to several unsolved cases in the area.

Neighbors like Ravanda Duncan aren’t taking any chances tonight.

“You come in my home and I will shoot you. I’m there to protect my home, my children, and grandchildren. I’m not going to have somebody just come in and take what we’ve worked a life time for,” said Duncan.

Waters said next time if someone knocks on her door she will make sure they know someone is home.

She also said she plans on buying a gun for protection and taking classes on how to use it.

Published in: on February 20, 2013 at 6:01 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://scp09.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/mother-protects-9-year-old-during-robbery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

